Luther’s Small Catechism

24cd56 1c493a695f7348b181be5abac38ccd77

The Small Catechism was written by Martin Luther in 1959 and published for the purpose of training persons in the Christian faith. There are six main topics including: the Apostles’ Creed (statement of faith), Confession (and Abolution), the Lord’s Prayer (Our Father), the Sacraments of the Altar (Communion) and Holy Baptism, and the Ten Commandments. It goes on to explain the reasons and purposes behind each of these items.

Also included are prayers, duties of Chistians and an explanation of the Office of the Keys. The Office of the Keys is the authority to forgive sins of those who repent and deny it to those who do not repent. Overall, Luther’s Small Catechism is a summation of what Lutherans believe and why. The Small Catechism used in the conjunction with the Holy Bible is a great training tool and is extensively employed in confirmation.

For more information on what we believe you can contact us or if you’d like to know when worship is held at Zion, you can visit our services page.

Icon Church

Church Services

Icon Online Service

Online Services

Icon Give

Church Giving

Contact Zion Lutheran Church


865 South Church Road
​Bensenville, IL 60106    


(630) 766-1039


Christ Centered